Everyone Is In Love With Faith

10/04/2012

What a great concept faith is.  Just believe and hope.  No need to have proof or reason. When asked, you can just reply that it’s simply a matter of faith – blind faith that is.

I believe that everyone should believe in a higher power.  I know I do.  I think that a belief in God is critical in providing society with the proper moral values which helps it to establish the laws necessary to govern conduct between people.  In my own life, it’s also been essential in my personal growth and for my understanding of the world around me.

When I was in college, I served as a Sunday school teacher at the local church.  I had a class of 5 year olds and needless to say that they taught me more than I taught them.  We were reading from the Bible one day, in particular the passage where Jesus said that if you seek the truth, the truth will set you free.  Well, one of my students innocently asked why do we have to search for the truth.  This started me on a journey of looking for the truth, a journey that has so far lasted more than half of my life.  You see contrary to what most people believe, the truth is not that easy to find.

Along the way, I sought the truth from many people who had all sorts of ideas and I wound up taking directions from some well-meaning people who continually directed me down the wrong road.  But after seeking the truth for so many years without success, the truth literally found me one day.  It was a real epiphany.

Belief systems, of which faith is one, can come about only one of two ways.  One way is to adopt someone else’s opinion and the other way is to have your own personal experience like I did.  So if you haven’t had your own life-changing experiences, then your belief systems are based on someone else’s opinion.  Take faith as an example.  Faith is something that everyone wants to have. We absolutely are in love with faith.  If we didn’t have it, we would somehow create it for ourselves as there is an innate need in the human species to believe in a higher power.

The problem is this: How many people actually know God?  As a result, the vast majority base their faith on someone else’s opinion.  I can live with that as long as one keeps an open mind and an open heart and continues their own personal search for the truth; however, that rarely happens.  Most people generally fall into four groups, those that are intellectually lazy, those that are intellectually arrogant enough to presume that they already know all the answers, those that have been brainwashed into believing that they know the truth and those that just couldn’t care less.  None of those groups consist of seekers, only accepters.  By that I mean that they let things just happen to them as opposed to being active participants in life.  They hope that everything will somehow work out for the best and have faith that “God will provide”.

Occasionally, I’ll run across someone who has faith but still continues to search for the truth.  If you’re one of those people, a rich journey of exploration and discovery awaits you, albeit one with perhaps a lot of bumps in the road.  If you’re up to the challenge, though, I have faith that you can do it.  Did I say faith?  Even I’m in love with it.

Leave a Reply

