More Immigration Hysteria

02/05/2017

As I mentioned in my last post, there was no hue and cry when President Obama imposed immigration restrictions in 2011.  However, the hypocrisy goes far beyond that, as witnessed by the following quotes:

 

  • “All Americans…are rightly disturbed by the large numbers of illegal aliens entering our country.  The jobs they hold might otherwise be held by citizens or legal immigrants.  The public service they use impose burdens on our taxpayers.  That’s why our administration has moved aggressively to secure our borders….”  – President Bill Clinton

  • “Even as we are a nation of immigrants, we are a nation of laws.  Undocumented workers broke our immigration laws and I believe that they must be held accountable, especially those that might be dangerous.  When I took office, I committed to fixing this broken immigration system and I began by doing what I could to secure our borders.  But today, our immigration system is broken and everybody knows it.  There are actions I have the legal authority to take as President…The actions I’m taking are not only lawful, they are the kinds of actions taken by every single Republican President and every single Democratic President for the past half-century….”  – President Barack Obama

Given what President Clinton and President Obama said and did, why is there even a debate today?

12 Responses to “More Immigration Hysteria”

  1. Nan said

    Some of it might have to do with the fact tRump is banning Muslims … not just “immigrants.”

    Suggest you read this post: https://whistlinginthewind.org/2017/02/05/restoring-some-humanity-to-the-refugee-debate/

    • chicagoja said

      Of course, Obama was banning Muslim countries too.

      • Nan said

        To me, the big difference is Muslims are specifically the ones currently being banned. And he’s even talked about giving “special dispensation” to any Christians coming from the named countries.

        Based on the quotes above, the bans weren’t as specific.

      • chicagoja said

        So, you are obviously for Muslim immigrants. What else? Open borders?

      • Nan said

        Don’t make assumptions.

      • chicagoja said

        So, exactly what would you like to see happen, then, on the immigration front?

      • Nan said

        Considering that bans seem to be unavoidable, I suppose I would be most in favor of those that included the countries that have already produced known terrorists, e.g. Saudi Arabia.

        The world being what it is today, who can know for certain where the next terrorist will come from? But to narrow it by religion just doesn’t set right with me.

      • chicagoja said

        Just to be clear, the government temporarily banned travel from 7 Muslim-majority countries. However, that’s only 7 out of 50 Muslim-majority countries which were restricted. That’s not exactly a Muslim ban. The seven countries so affected are the same seven countries that were singled out in a December 2015 measure that President Obama signed into law. The stated reason for that law was “the growing threat from foreign terrorist fighters.” Why Obama didn’t identify Saudi Arabia as a possible terrorist threat is anyone’s guess. Isn’t politics wonderful?

      • Nan said

        Isn’t politics wonderful? Interestingly, I only became truly interested in politics during this election. I did watch the 2004 and 2008 elections closely as I liked Obama. But it was this reality star turned (ignorant) candidate that really got my attention. (BTW, I was not a Hillary supporter in case you’re wondering, but I did vote for her because it would have taken a gun to my head to vote for the Orange Monster.)

        Anyway, one last comment on the ban. Technically, you are correct. tRump’s ban was against Muslim-majority countries. But based on all his rhetoric during the campaign against Muslim people, it’s isn’t too difficult to discern what he had in mind. Moreover, as I mentioned before, the terrorists that wreaked havoc on the U.S. did not come from these countries.

        I suppose we need to do whatever we think will “protect” us, but when it comes right down to the wire, as history has shown us, we already have homegrown terrorists in our midst (and some of them aren’t Muslim!).

        Anyway, that’s my last comment on the subject because this conversation could go on for days! 😉

        Have a great week!

      • chicagoja said

        This whole discussion reminds me of how the mainstream media does not report on Islamic terrorism and were not even suppose to use the term in their news.

      • Nan said

        I’m curious where you got this information. The following article talks about Obama removing certain terms related to the religious aspect of terrorism in a government document, but I haven’t come across anything that indicates the “mainstream media” is not “supposed” to use the term.

        read more: http://www.haaretz.com/news/obama-bans-terms-islam-and-jihad-from-u-s-security-document-1.909

        (Shame on you! You pulled me back into the discussion! 🙂 )

      • chicagoja said

        There are many. Here’s one that I quickly looked up.
        http://newamericamedia.org/2010/04/obama-moves-to-de-link-terrorism-from-islam.php
        My apologies for sucking you back in. I’m done with it as well.

Leave a Reply

