Yes He Is, No He Isn’t

11/07/2010

When I was a kid, we used to argue back and forth: “Yes you are.” “No, I’m not.” We’d go back and forth without ever resolving anything.  But then, we were just kids being kids.  Now that I’m an adult (presumably), the game seems more than just a little bit childish. 

But, I’m confused.  I need someone to explain something to me. When Barack Obama was campaigning for the presidency, he didn’t want anyone using his middle name (which is obviously Muslim).  It was supposedly because he was trying to emphasize that he was a devout Christian.  I get that part. At least, he had attended a Christian church for many years, albeit one with a radical pastor.  No doubt, Jeremiah Wright’s controversial anti-American tirades had something to do with Michelle Obama saying that she wasn’t proud to be an American. I guess that I get that part too.                                        

But then there was the recent White House statement which said that President Obama was still committed to the Christian faith.  The President even went on The Larry King Show to combat the growing public perception that he is a Muslim.  Now here’s where it’s starting to get fuzzy for me.  Since when would a Christian bow to a Muslim (as in the King of Saudi Arabia)?  And since when would a Christian support the building of a mosque at Ground Zero?  To me, those actions seem completely at odds with how a devout Christian would act.

I mention this not because I care about the president’s faith. It’s okay for the president to be a Buddhist if he wants.  He could even be an atheist for all I care.  I would just like some clarity in what the man believes in and how it might therefore affect his judgment (like bowing to a foreign dignitary).

So here is where the picture goes completely out of focus.



For a man who is a devout Christian, he sure does quote a lot from what he refers to as the Holy Koran. Of course, the Koran is only considered holy by those that view it as such. Everyone else simply refers to it as the Koran.

That’s why I’m so confused.  President Obama’s actions don’t seem to reflect what he has said about his faith. For me, leadership and credibility go hand in hand in The Oval Office and if you can’t trust your leader, that’s a serious problem.  I guess that’s one reason why his poll numbers are so low.   

I know some people won’t share my views and that’s fine by me. If you want to, you can even call me a wacko or a zealot, or, like the government is doing nowadays with people who disagree with their policies, a terrorist.  Oh, by the way, did I understand it correctly that Barack Obama now admits that he was born in Kenya?

 

 I’m confused again more than ever. I thought he’s from Hawaii. Yes, he is.  No, he isn’t.  Yes, he is….

 

 Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”

     – Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr.

 

 

Leave a Reply

